Unofficial Election Results

City Council: Denise Simmons, Sumbul Siddiqui, Marc McGovern, Jan Devereux, Quinton Zondervan, Tim Toomey, Alanna Mallon, Dennis Carlone, Craig Kelley

Preliminary ballot counts showed that all City Council incumbents running for re-election held onto their seats. Sumbul Siddiqui, Quinton Zondervan, and Alanna Mallon were projected to secure the seats left vacant by Nadeem Mazen, Leland Cheung, and David Maher.

Mallon, a 13-year Cambridge resident who worked as the education liaison under Mayor David Maher, identifies wrap-around services for families, affordable housing, and bike/pedestrian safety as her top priorities.

Siddiqui’s a lifelong Cambridge resident who works on the Human Services Commission and serves on the Board of Directors of the South Asian Bar Association of Greater Boston.

Zondervan has dedicated himself to environmental issues, from chartering a zoning petition that led to the Net Zero Action Plan to serving on the city’s Climate Protection Action Committee.

School Committee: Patricia Nolan, Manikka Bowman, Emily Dexter, Alfred Fantini, Kathleen Kelly, Laurance Kimbrough

All five candidates running for re-election to the School Committee won spots, according to unofficial results. Laurance Kimbrough nabbed the seat that Richard Harding left vacant in a favor of a City Council bid.

Kimbrough told Scout that his top priorities are addressing the achievement gap, “dismantling the legacy of racism and white supremacy within the Cambridge Public Schools,” and “creating activists who will graduate from our schools prepared to take on the challenges of our current democracy.”

The preliminary results were announced after 1 a.m. on Wednesday after three memory cards with ballot information crashed. Officials had to rescan ballots from wards 7-2, 8-1, and 11-1.